Aughenbaugh Named VA Region 1 Teacher of the Year
Aughenbaugh Named VA Region 1 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 04/17/2023
Graphic that states CONGRATS!
VDOE Superintendent of Public Instruction Announces Aughenbaugh as the 2024 Virginia Region 1 Teacher of the Year

On Monday, April 17, 2023, on her first day in her new position, VDOE Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Lisa Coons visited New Kent High School with Chief of Staff Dr. Jeremy Raley and Assistant Superintendent of Data, Research, Technology and Security Dr. David Myers. She toured the facilities and observed CTE courses in action with building and district administrators. After the classroom visits, the VDOE guests, district leaders, and CTE classes convened for an assembly.

photo collage with images of Dr. Coons visiting NKHS classrooms

During the assembly, Mr. Christopher Valdrighi, New Kent High School principal, introduced New Kent County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Brian Nichols. Dr. Nichols thanked the VDOE guests and acknowledged the NKCPS School Board members in attendance: Ms. Sarah Grier Barber, Ms. Andrea Staskiel, and Ms. Kristin Swynford. He also noted that New Kent Education Foundation President Mr. Alan Files and Bridging Communities Regional Career & Technical Center Governor’s STEM Academy Executive Director Dr. Julie Ellis were present. Dr. Nichols then turned the podium over to Dr. Coons.

Dr. Coons expressed how impressed she was with the NKCPS CTE program and particularly with the work of Mr. John Aughenbaugh, New Kent High School CTE teacher and department chair, has put into developing the NKCPS CTE program. She then announced that he is the 2024 Virginia Region 1 Teacher of the Year. Dr. Coons stated, “You know, I’m incredibly inspired by you, inspired that Virginia has amazing teachers like you, and [I] really want to recognize you as the Regional Teacher of the Year for Virginia Department of Education.”

When she made this announcement, the stage curtains pulled back to reveal the New Kent High School cheerleaders and drum line with a banner to recognize Mr. Aughenbaugh’s achievement. Mr. Aughenbaugh took the podium and spoke about his work and the importance of CTE courses. There was a brief reception afterwards in the New Kent High School Media Center, which allowed Mr. Aughenbaugh an opportunity to celebrate with leadership and speak one-on-one with Dr. Coons about his work.

photo collage of Teacher of the Year assembly and reception

Mr. Aughenbaugh will now advance to the state level of the Teacher of the Year competition.

Dr. Nichols states, “John Aughenbaugh is incredibly deserving of being named the Region 1 Teacher of the Year. He is a strong advocate for career and technical education. Mr. Aughenbaugh has rebuilt the engineering program and expanded opportunities for New Kent High School students. He makes our school division better with his leadership.”